Obstetrics: Databases

On-campus log in to GALILEO databases, click here.    Off-campus log in to GALILEO databases, click here.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

CINAHL (EBSCOhost)
Provides access to abstracts and indexing, as well as some full text, for more than 1,835 nursing and allied health journals, publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing, nursing dissertations, and selected other biomedical journals. Limited coverage of psychology and management literature is also included. Print index covers 1977- .

CINAHL Plus with full text (EBSCOhost)
Provides abstracts and indexing as well as full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials with indexing back to 1937. The database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters, as well as Evidence-Based Care Sheets.

Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content, including full text from many health reference books and encyclopedias and thousands of health reports as well as physician-generated videos and hundreds of medical images and diagrams.

Health Source : Nursing/Academic (EBSCOhost)
Nearly 520 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals. Also included are the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.

Lexis Nexis Academic
contains approximately 5,000 publications, virtually all include full text. Many types of publications are included: newspapers, legal news, medical journals, government publications (such as the federal case law, U.S. Code, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Testimony, etc.), law reviews, and reference works.

MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
The database offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE.

MEDLINE Plus (EBSCOhost)
MEDLINEplus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 600 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

The Merck Manual
Standard medical reference sources for over 100 years providing detailed information on virtually all disorders, complete with discussion of symptoms and current therapy.

National Library of Medicine Gateway
Allows user to search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM): Medline/PubMed, PubMed Guide, TOXLINE (Toxicoloby Literature Online), Medline Plus, Clinical Trials.gov, HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects), and HSDB (Hazardous Substances database).

Neurosciences Abstract (CSA Illumina)
This database provides citations on all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience. Topics included cover aging, degeneration and repair, neuropharmacology, neuroendrocrinology, molecular neurobiology, neurochemistry and cell biology, genetics, sleep rhythms, neural correlates of behavior, neural networks, memory, pain, dementias, neuromuscular junction, motor systems, and neuropsychology.

Proquest Nursing Journals
Includes abstracting and indexing for more than 690 titles, with over 570 titles in full text. This database provides users with healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more.

Research Library (Proquest)
Abstracts and indexing for over 2,600, as well as full text for over 1,700 scholarly journals and general magazines.

   NetLibrary

NetLibrary provides access to electronic books (eBooks), including reference books, scholarly monographs, publications of many university presses, and consumer books that have been converted into digital format. 

To access the many titles available in NetLibrary:

1. Log in to GALILEO and select the Databases A-Z tab. 

2. Select the letter "N" from the alphabetical listing or type in "NetLibrary" in the search box. 

3. Scroll down and select the NetLibrary link. 

4. Search NetLibrary using keywords or the subject categories listed in this LibGuide to locate books on topics for Social Work research.